The coveted Versatile Blogger Awards

Posted: October 10, 2011 in News
Tags: , ,

Super thanks go to Olga from Rock Britain for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Awards – surely the most prestigious of cyber gongs. I don’t know if to accept the award with a pinch of salt or a gallon of champagne! Olga runs an impressive service over at RB, reviewing and commenting on the British Rock scene from a Russian perspective with plenty of quality insights. I’m told she supports CSKA Moscow so I hope she understands when I admit that I Wagner Love her blog.

Now, the rules and regulations of the VBA are as follows:

  1. Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  2. Share seven random facts about yourself.
  3. Pass the award on to 5-7 deserving blogging buddies.
  4. Contact those buddies to congratulate them!
 
Seven suitably stupid facts about myself.   

1) I am determined to bring the word ‘mega’ back into common parlance.

2) I voted for Nick Clegg and still regret it.

3) I used to think that a Playstation was a compendium of toys.

4) I once walked past Dara O’Brien at London St Pancras and forgot to say “you’re fired”.

5) I don’t understand the merits of brown bread, why the seeds?

6) At the curious age of 15 I tried a pickled egg for the first, and last time.

7) I am too skinny to get a job as Father Christmas.

As tradition goes I am now obligated to pass-on the baton (as Michael Johnson would say) and pronounce some new winners! Here are my choices:

My first pick is a no-brainer. Architect behind the super-successful Pterosauria blog, Taylor Reints also runs Beasts Evolved,  Naturally Selected and Life as we know it. As a scientist, I can only marvel at Taylor’s incredible enthusiasm for Biology and Palaeontology. Apparently not learned in either field, Taylor puts me to shame on a number of topics and has an encyclopaedic knowledge of both. 

Going by the name of Anomnon, Kaja will update you on everything musical and topical from Pixie Lott to Hogwarts dubstep to Dr Who. A most entertaining blog which I have taken to reading straight after my morning Cheerios. Current and classy, probably the coolest blog I know of with a real focus on reader engagement, something most miss by a wide margin.

With a lemon-themed backdrop The Twist squeezes nothing but gossip on most celebrities and showbiz. Also covering musical genres from Pop to Rock to Indie to Reggae to Rap to Alternative, and everything in between, what more could you ask for?

Most people yawn just hearing the word politics. Right To Be Heard rather leaves you bolt awake, offering an accessible and humorous viewpoint of political happenings and mishap(pening)s. 

Music For The Laundromat provides a refreshing outlook on a localised music scene that I would otherwise know absolutely nothing about.  I am still trying to persuade author Bianca Martin to twin her Brisbane-based blog with my Leicester connections, forging an antipodean, underground Aussie-UK alliance! MFTL introduces music that makes up your every day life. In a nice anecdote, a shared tag of Velociraptor helped me discover MFTL.

So the time has come to close this wonderful ceremony for another day. Thanks to our WordPress sponsors and good morning 🙂

Comments
  1. iamkaja says:

    Thank you, what a lovely surprise, wasn’t expecting it!
    Keep on writing 😀

  2. thereviewer says:

    You are most welcome Kaja! I adore your blog – keep the postings coming 😀

  3. Bianca says:

    So I seem to have neglected my blog/emails for a few months – eek! Sorry about that! And thank you very much for the mention 😀

Leave a Reply

