Sleep with the FISHES!

Posted: September 27, 2011 in Video
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A little bit of research tells me that Brisbane-based band Velociraptor are a 12-piece. This includes 7 guitarists and surely at least three people on tambourine judging by this effort – Sleeeeep with the FISHES! Great song.

It reminds me of Jet, rather inevitably with the Australian connection. The Melbourne rockers aren’t a bad band to sound like though. Are You Gonna Be My Girl? will always be a dancefloor classic.

 

Sidenote stinger: The Aussie cricket team would also need a 12-piece set up to beat the English ‘pomms’, world number ones.

For more buzz on Brisbane’s fruitful music scene click here.

Comments
  1. EmSwanson says:

    One of the websites I write for emailed around a list of bands that were being offered up for interviews. I saw Velociraptor on there and opted to take them purely from your recommendation and having now listened to them, I can honestly say I love them. They’re amazing. It’s an email QA interview, so if you’ve got any questions you wanna ask the guys, let me know! I’ll probably have to send the questions off in the next day or so, but if you see this, ask away.

    I’m totally baffled by the 12-piece dynamic and how that works, so I’m probably going to ask them about that haha.

    Also, two of the guys in the band are in a duo called DZ Deathrays. Another good Aussie band I failed to mention when I gave you a list of good ones to look out for. They’re great. Kinda like Death From Above 1979.

    • thereviewer says:

      Hey!

      Wow, I’m envious of your contact list, will all twelve be at the interview? That’s a lot of people to fit around one table, sure will be cosy!

      A question from me for Velociraptor, hmm, very considerate of you 🙂 I’m always intrigued about band names, and being a biologist I’m particularly interested in theirs, perhaps ask that old chestnut? Otherwise – just let them know their music has reached British shores! Cynthia, Riot, Sleep with the Fishes, great songs…

      By the way, I like what I hear of DZ Deathrays, might have to review them in a while, very raw, punky sound, thanks for the heads up!

  2. EmSwanson says:

    Not in person unfortunately. Just fired off an email with some questions then (including one about their name).

    I can’t wait for them to release a full-length. I think I’m falling in love.

    DZ are great. They started off really manic and quite messy, but they’ve sharpened it up a little on their debut LP and they sound great (without losing that rawness). Anywho, I’m going to bed as it’s WELL past my bed time, but thank you for getting back to me quickly! Glad I could throw your question in 🙂

Leave a Reply

